Skip to main content
Name Field Email Phone Office Fall 2022
Office Hours
Dr. Shahla Adel
Teaching Associate Professor in Persian
Persian sadel@email.unc.edu GEC 4105

W 5:30-6:30 Zoom Only F 8:50-9:50 In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/j/94460115131

Ms. Yuki Aratake
Teaching Professor in Japanese
Japanese yaratake@email.unc.edu New West 107

WF 9:00-10:00 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/aratakeofficehours      

Ms. Dongsoo Bang
Teaching Associate Professor in Korean
Korean dsbang@email.unc.edu New West 223

M 8:00-9:00 T 10:00-11:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/dsbang 

Dr. Jan Bardsley
Professor Emerita
Japanese bardsley@email.unc.edu

Retired.

Dr. Uffe Bergeton
Associate Professor
Chinese bergeton@email.unc.edu 962-4740 New West 210

T 11:00-12:00 R 1:00-2:00 In-Person or Zoom
Zoom please schedule: https://unc.zoom.us/my/bergetonofficehours

Ms. Makiko Border
Lecturer
Japanese myborder@email.unc.edu New West 110

TW 11:15-12:15 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/borderofficehours

Ms. Luoyi Cai
Teaching Assistant Professor in Chinese
Chinese luoyicai@email.unc.edu GEC 4107

T 2:30-3:30 Zoom Only F 1:30-2:30 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/luoyicai

Dr. John Caldwell
Teaching Associate Professor in Hindi-Urdu
Hindi-Urdu asiaweb@email.unc.edu 843-7056 New West 222

M 2:30-3:30 Zoom or In-Person T 1:30-2:30 Zoom Only
Meeting ID: 790 289 4485; Passcode: HNURGURU
https://unc.zoom.us/my/johncaldwellsmeetingroom

Dr. Dwayne Dixon
Teaching Assistant Professor
Global Asia dedixon@email.unc.edu

By appointment.

Dr. Mark Driscoll
Professor
Japanese mdriscol@email.unc.edu 319

On Leave

Ms. Sophie Eichelberger
Teaching Assistant
Asian Studies soeiche@ad.unc.edu

R 11:00-12:00 Zoom Only

Ms. Doria El Kerdany
Teaching Associate Professor in Arabic
Arabic elkerdan@email.unc.edu New West 223

MW 12:10-1:10 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/doriaofficehours

Ms. Na Fan
Visiting Lecturer
Chinese nafan@email.unc.edu 962-4294 Coates 210

M 1:10-2:10 T 2:00-1:00 Zoom Only
Zoom:https://unc.zoom.us/my/fanofficehours

Dr. Didem Havlioglu
Professor of the Practice
Turkish didemh@email.unc.edu Coates 207

MW 12:00-1:00 Zoom Only
https://duke.zoom.us/my/havlioglu Zoom 486 660 9823

Dr. Keren He
Assistant Professor
Chinese kerenhe@email.unc.edu New West 109

TR 12:00-1:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/j/92408277586

Dr. Kevin Hewison
Weldon E. Thornton Emeritus Distinguished Professor, Emeritus
khewison@unc.edu

Retired

Dr. Li-ling Hsiao
Associate Professor
Chinese hsiaoLL@email.unc.edu New West 306

TR 11:00-12:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/hsiaoofficehours

Ms. Fengyan HU
Lecturer
Chinese fengyhu@email.unc.edu GEC 4117

T 10:00-11:00 W 4:00-5:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/fengyanhu

Ms. Fumi Iwashita
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese iwashita@email.unc.edu New West 102

MW 1:30-2:30 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/iwashitaofficehours

Dr. Ji-Yeon Jo
Associate Professor
Korean joj@email.unc.edu New West 214

TR 9:30-10:30 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/joofficehours

Mr. Nathan Jumper
Teaching Assistant
Chinese jumperna@live.unc.edu N/A

meeting ID for Zoom is 876-308-7966

Ms. Yuko Kato
Teaching Associate Professor in Japanese
Japanese ykato@email.unc.edu New West 101

T 2:30-3:30 w 3:30-4:30 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/katoofficehours

Mr. Bud Kauffman
Teaching Associate Professor in Arabic
Arabic budk@email.unc.edu 962-4739 GEC 4120

M 1:15-2:15 T 1:45-2:45 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/kauffmanpmi

Dr. I Jonathan Kief
Assistant Professor
Korean kief@email.unc.edu New West 215

T 5:00-6:00 In-Person R 10:00-11:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/kiefofficehours

Dr. Eunji Lee
Teaching Assistant Professor in Korean
Korean ejlee12@email.unc.edu GEC 4109

TW 10:00-11:00 Zoom or In-Person
Virtual office hour: Email instructor to make an appointment (zoom link: https://unc.zoom.us/my/leeofficehours)

Dr. Giseung Lee
Visiting Lecturer
Korean giseung@email.unc.edu Coates 207

TR 12:10-1:10 In-Person
Zoom Link: https://unc.zoom.us/j/9357373148

Dr. Pamela Lothspeich
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu ploth@email.unc.edu New West 124

M 11:00-12:00 Zoom Only R 4:15-5:15 In-person Only
https://unc.zoom.us/j/99756933154

Dr. Minh Nguyen
Lecturer
Vietnamese minh.x.nguyen@unc.edu

WF 11:20-12:20
https://unc.zoom.us/j/5043258897

Dr. Morgan Pitelka
Professor and Chair
Japanese mpitelka@unc.edu New West 121

TR 1:00-2:00 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/pitelkaofficehours

Dr. Lini Ge Polin
Teaching Associate Professor in Chinese
Chinese linige@unc.edu New West 111

T 12:00-1:00 W 10:00-11:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/gelaoshiofficehours

Mr. Katsu Sawamura
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese katsuhik@email.unc.edu New West 107

TR 12:15-1:15 In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/sawamuraofficehours

Dr. Yaron Shemer
Associate Professor
Hebrew yshemer@email.unc.edu New West 202

T 12:30-1:30 In person R 9:30-10:30 In-Person or Zoom
https://unc.zoom.us/my/shemer.officehours

Ms. Caroline Sibley
Teaching Assistant Professor
Arabic robinsoc@email.unc.edu GEC 4117

M 1:00-2:00 W 10:00-11:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/csrobinson

Mr. Aadil Sofi
Lecturer
Hindi-Urdu aadil@unc.edu GEC 4106

T 12:30-1:30 R 1:15-2:15 Zoom or In-person
Meeting ID: 868 7814778
Passcode: aadil123

Ms. Hanna Sprintzik
Teaching Associate Professor in Hebrew
Hebrew hannasp@email.unc.edu 843-7056 GEC 4121

MW 11:15-12:15 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/hebrewofficehours

Dr. Afroz Taj
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu taj@email.unc.edu 962-1060 New West 201

T 12:30-1:30 R 12:50-1:50 Zoom Only
Meeting ID: 233 972 0119 ; Passcode: TAJMAHAL)
Zoom Link: https://unc.zoom.us/j/2339720119?pwd=Tktzcy9yNTFZdGUwanFBS0s4SkpIdz09#success

Dr. Ana Vinea
Assistant Professor
Arabic anavinea@email.unc.edu New West 108

On Leave

Dr. Robin Visser
Associate Professor
Chinese rvisser@email.unc.edu New West 318

MT 3:30-4:30 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/visserofficehours

Ms. Sunny Vo
Lecturer
Vietnamese vopd@email.unc.edu GEC 4106

R 3:45-4:45 Zoom or In-Person F 9:30-10:30 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/j/8534322469

Ms. Shuguang Wang
Teaching Fellow
Chinese hunrose@live.unc.edu New West 222

W 4:00-5:00 F 11:15-12:15 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/shuguangofficehours

Dr. Claudia Yaghoobi
Associate Professor
Persian yaghoobi@email.unc.edu GEC 3018

M 11:00-12:00 W 9:00-10:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/yaghoobiofficehours

Dr. Nadia Yaqub
Professor
Arabic yaqub@email.unc.edu 843-8149 New West 305

T 3:30-4:30 R 11:00-12:00 Zoom or In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/nadiayaqub

Dr. Gang Yue
Associate Professor
Chinese yuegang@email.unc.edu New West 302

W 3:00-4:00 Zoom Only R 3:30-4:30 In-Person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/yueofficehours 

Ms. Yi Zhou
Teaching Professor in Chinese
Chinese yizh@email.unc.edu New West 111

M 2:30-3:30 W 11:10-12:10 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/zhouofficehours