Skip to main content
Name Field Email Phone Office Fall 2022
Office Hours
Dr. Shahla Adel
Teaching Associate Professor in Persian
Persian sadel@email.unc.edu GEC 4105

WF 9:00-10:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/j/94460115131

Ms. Yuki Aratake
Teaching Professor in Japanese
Japanese yaratake@email.unc.edu New West 107

https://unc.zoom.us/my/aratakeofficehours      

Ms. Dongsoo Bang
Teaching Associate Professor in Korean
Korean dsbang@email.unc.edu New West 223

https://unc.zoom.us/my/dsbang 

Dr. Jan Bardsley
Professor Emerita
Japanese bardsley@email.unc.edu

Retired.

Dr. Uffe Bergeton
Associate Professor
Chinese bergeton@email.unc.edu 962-4740 New West 210

https://unc.zoom.us/my/bergetonofficehours

Ms. Makiko Border
Lecturer
Japanese myborder@email.unc.edu New West 110
Ms. Luoyi Cai
Teaching Assistant Professor in Chinese
Chinese luoyicai@email.unc.edu GEC 4107

T 2:30-3:30 Zoom Only F 1:30-2:30 Zoom or in-person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/luoyicai

Dr. John Caldwell
Teaching Associate Professor in Hindi-Urdu
Hindi-Urdu asiaweb@email.unc.edu 843-7056 New West 222

Meeting ID: 790 289 4485; Passcode: HNURGURU
https://unc.zoom.us/my/johncaldwellsmeetingroom

Dr. Dwayne Dixon
Teaching Assistant Professor
Global Asia dedixon@email.unc.edu

"By appointment"
https://unc.zoom.us/my/dwaynedixonofficehours

Dr. Mark Driscoll
Professor
Japanese mdriscol@email.unc.edu 319

On Leave

Ms. Sophie Eichelberger
Teaching Assistant
Asian Studies soeiche@ad.unc.edu GEC 4113
Ms. Doria El Kerdany
Teaching Associate Professor in Arabic
Arabic elkerdan@email.unc.edu New West 223

MW 12:30-1:30 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/doriaofficehours

Ms. Na Fan
Visiting Lecturer
Chinese nafan@email.unc.edu 962-4294 Coates 210

M 1:10-2:10 T 2:00-1:00 Zoom Only
Zoom:https://unc.zoom.us/my/fanofficehours

Dr. Didem Havlioglu
Professor of the Practice
Turkish didemh@email.unc.edu Coates 207

https://duke.zoom.us/my/havlioglu

Dr. Keren He
Assistant Professor
Chinese kerenhe@email.unc.edu New West 109

TR 12:00-1:00 Zoom Only

Dr. Kevin Hewison
Weldon E. Thornton Emeritus Distinguished Professor, Emeritus
khewison@unc.edu

Retired

Dr. Li-ling Hsiao
Associate Professor
Chinese hsiaoLL@email.unc.edu New West 306

On Leave
https://unc.zoom.us/my/hsiaoofficehours

Ms. Fengyan HU
Lecturer
Chinese fengyhu@email.unc.edu GEC 4117
Ms. Fumi Iwashita
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese iwashita@email.unc.edu New West 102

https://unc.zoom.us/my/iwashitaofficehours

Dr. Ji-Yeon Jo
Associate Professor
Korean joj@email.unc.edu New West 214

https://unc.zoom.us/my/joofficehours

Mr. Nathan Jumper
Teaching Assistant
Chinese jumperna@live.unc.edu
Ms. Yuko Kato
Teaching Associate Professor in Japanese
Japanese ykato@email.unc.edu New West 101

https://unc.zoom.us/my/katoofficehours

Mr. Bud Kauffman
Teaching Associate Professor in Arabic
Arabic budk@email.unc.edu 962-4739 GEC 4120

M 1:15-2:15 T 1:45-2:45 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/kauffmanpmi

Dr. I Jonathan Kief
Assistant Professor
Korean kief@email.unc.edu New West 215
Dr. Eunji Lee
Teaching Assistant Professor in Korean
Korean ejlee12@email.unc.edu GEC 4109

TW 10:00-11:00 Zoom or In person
Virtual office hour: Email instructor to make an appointment (zoom link: https://unc.zoom.us/my/leeofficehours)

Dr. Giseung Lee
Visiting Lecturer
Korean giseung@email.unc.edu Coates 207

Zoom Link: https://unc.zoom.us/j/9357373148

Dr. Pamela Lothspeich
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu ploth@email.unc.edu New West 124

https://unc.zoom.us/j/97953925119

Dr. Nguyen Minh
Lecturer
Vietnamese minh.x.nguyen@unc.edu
Dr. Morgan Pitelka
Professor and Chair
Japanese mpitelka@unc.edu New West 121

TR 1:00-2:00 Zoom or in person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/pitelkaofficehours

Dr. Lini Ge Polin
Teaching Associate Professor in Chinese
Chinese linige@unc.edu New West 111

T 12:00-1:00 W 10:00-1100 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/gelaoshiofficehours

Mr. Katsu Sawamura
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese katsuhik@email.unc.edu New West 107

https://unc.zoom.us/my/sawamuraofficehours

Dr. Yaron Shemer
Associate Professor
Hebrew yshemer@email.unc.edu New West 202

T 12:30-1:30 In person R 9:30-10:30 In Person or Zoom
https://unc.zoom.us/my/shemer.officehours

Ms. Caroline Sibley
Teaching Assistant Professor
Arabic robinsoc@email.unc.edu GEC 4117

TW 10:00-11:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/csrobinson

Mr. Aadil Sofi
Lecturer
Hindi-Urdu aadil@unc.edu GEC 4106
Ms. Hanna Sprintzik
Teaching Associate Professor in Hebrew
Hebrew hannasp@email.unc.edu 843-7056 GEC 4121

MW 11:15-12:15 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/hebrewofficehours

Dr. Afroz Taj
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu taj@email.unc.edu 962-1060 New West 201

Meeting ID: 233 972 0119 ; Passcode: TAJMAHAL)
Zoom Link: https://unc.zoom.us/j/2339720119?pwd=Tktzcy9yNTFZdGUwanFBS0s4SkpIdz09#success

Dr. Ana Vinea
Assistant Professor
Arabic anavinea@email.unc.edu New West 108

On Leave

Dr. Robin Visser
Associate Professor
Chinese rvisser@email.unc.edu New West 318

https://unc.zoom.us/my/visserofficehours

Ms. Sunny Vo
Lecturer
Vietnamese vopd@email.unc.edu GEC 4106
Ms. Shuguang Wang
Teaching Fellow
Chinese hunrose@live.unc.edu New West 222
Dr. Claudia Yaghoobi
Associate Professor
Persian yaghoobi@email.unc.edu GEC 3018

M 11:00-12:00 W 9:00-10:00 Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/yaghoobiofficehours

Dr. Nadia Yaqub
Professor
Arabic yaqub@email.unc.edu 843-8149 New West 305

T 4-5 R 11-12 Zoom or in person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/nadiayaqub

Dr. Gang Yue
Associate Professor
Chinese yuegang@email.unc.edu New West 302

W 3:00-4:00 Zoom Only R 3:30-4:30 In person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/yueofficehours 

Ms. Yi Zhou
Teaching Professor in Chinese
Chinese yizh@email.unc.edu New West 111

https://unc.zoom.us/my/zhouofficehours