Name Field Email Phone Office Spring 2020
Office Hours
Dr. Shahla Adel
Teaching Associate Professor in Persian
Persian sadel@email.unc.edu New West 110

WF 12:15-1:15

Dr. Lorraine Aragon
Adjunct Associate Professor
Southeast Asia aragon2@email.unc.edu 843-7562 Alumni 409E

MW 11-12

Ms. Yuki Aratake
Teaching Professor in Japanese
Japanese yaratake@email.unc.edu 962-5454 New West 107

M 11:15-12:15
W 9-10

Ms. Dongsoo Bang
Teaching Assistant Professor in Korean
Korean dsbang@email.unc.edu New West 223

M 8-9
T 11-12

Dr. Jan Bardsley
Professor Emerita
Japanese bardsley@email.unc.edu

Retired.

Dr. Uffe Bergeton
Associate Professor
Chinese bergeton@email.unc.edu 962-4740 New West 108

T 2-3
R 11-12

Ms. Luoyi Cai
Teaching Assistant Professor in Chinese
Chinese luoyicai@email.unc.edu 843-5708 134 E. Franklin St., 216

T 12:15-1:15
F 1:30-2:30

Mr. John Caldwell
Teaching Associate Professor in Hindi-Urdu
Hindi-Urdu asiaweb@email.unc.edu 843-7056 New West 222

W 1:20-2:20
R 1:30-2:30

Ms. Emily Crockett
Teaching Assistant
Chinese eccrock@live.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 221

R 2-3

Dr. Dwayne Dixon
Teaching Assistant Professor
Global Asia dedixon@email.unc.edu

By appointment only.

Dr. Mark Driscoll
Associate Professor
Japanese mdriscol@email.unc.edu New West 319

T 5-6
R 11-12

Ms. Doria El Kerdany
Teaching Associate Professor in Arabic
Arabic elkerdan@email.unc.edu New West 223

M 12:15-1:15
R 1:15-2:15

Ms. Na Fan
Visiting Lecturer
Chinese nafan@email.unc.edu 843-5708 134 E. Franklin St., 216

MT 1-2

Ms. Junko Fujioka
Visiting Lecturer
Japanese junkoj@email.unc.edu 962-1037 134 E. Franklin St., 219A
Dr. Didem Havlioglu
Lecturer in Turkish
Turkish didemh@email.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 218

MW 11:30-12:30

Dr. Li-ling Hsiao
Associate Professor
Chinese hsiaoLL@email.unc.edu 962-2544 New West 306

TR 9:45-10:45

Ms. Fumi Iwashita
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese iwashita@email.unc.edu New West 102

T 12:30-1:30
W 3:30-4:30

Dr. Ji-Yeon Jo
Associate Professor
Korean joj@email.unc.edu New West 214

On leave.

Ms. Samantha Johnson
Teaching Fellow
Japanese samantja@live.unc.edu New West 107

W 12:30-1:30
R 2-3

Ms. Yuko Kato
Teaching Associate Professor in Japanese
Japanese ykato@email.unc.edu 843-7501 New West 101

MW 12-1

Mr. Bud Kauffman
Teaching Assistant Professor in Arabic
Arabic budk@email.unc.edu 962-4739 Coates 207

TR 2-3

Dr. I Jonathan Kief
Assistant Professor
Korean kief@email.unc.edu New West 215

T 5-6
R 1-2

Ms. Heyne Kim
Teaching Fellow
Japanese hk@live.unc.edu New West 107

MW 2-3

Dr. Eunji Lee
Teaching Assistant Professor in Korean
Korean ejlee12@email.unc.edu Coates 210

On leave

Dr. Wendan Li
Professor
Chinese wli@email.unc.edu 843-7500 New West 318

TR 12-1

Ms. Slki Lim
Teaching Assistant
slki@live.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 222

W 11-12

Ms. Jia Lin
Teaching Assistant Professor in Chinese
Chinese jialin@email.unc.edu 962-1018 New West 110

T 10-11
W 1:20-2:20

Dr. Pamela Lothspeich
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu ploth@email.unc.edu New West 124

On leave

Mr. Hwichan Oh
Visiting Lecturer
Korean hwioh@email.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 215A

TW 3:30-4:30

Dr. Morgan Pitelka
Professor and Chair
Japanese mpitelka@unc.edu (919) 843-5561 New West 121

M 2-3; W 2:30-3:30

Ms. Lini Ge Polin
Teaching Assistant Professor in Chinese
Chinese linige@unc.edu 962-1019 New West 111

M 2:30-3:30
W 12:15-1:15

Mr. Katsu Sawamura
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese katsuhik@email.unc.edu 962-5454 New West 107

On leave.

Dr. Khalid Shahu
Teaching Assistant Professor in Arabic
Arabic kshahu1971@unc.edu 843-4430 134 E. Franklin St., 217

MW 12:20-1:20

Dr. Yaron Shemer
Associate Professor
Hebrew yshemer@email.unc.edu 962-5428 New West 202

TR 9:30-10:30

Ms. Hanna Sprintzik
Teaching Associate Professor in Hebrew
Hebrew hannasp@email.unc.edu New West 222

MW 11:15-12:15

Mr. Colin Stifler
Teaching Assistant
Hindi-Urdu stiflecj@live.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 221

F 12:45-1:45

Dr. Afroz Taj
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu taj@email.unc.edu 962-1060 New West 201

T 2-3
R 2:15-315

Dr. Ana Vinea
Assistant Professor
Arabic anavinea@email.unc.edu New West 124

T 2-3
R 11-12

Dr. Robin Visser
Associate Professor
Chinese rvisser@email.unc.edu 962-1027 New West 210

T 2:30-3:30
R 11-12

Ms. Shuguang Wang
Teaching Assistant
Chinese hunrose@live.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 222

W 2-3

Dr. Claudia Yaghoobi
Assistant Professor
Persian yaghoobi@email.unc.edu New West 109

TR 3:30-4:30

Dr. Nadia Yaqub
Professor
Arabic yaqub@email.unc.edu 843-8149 New West 305

T 3:50-4:50
R 12:30-1:30

Dr. Gang Yue
Associate Professor
Chinese yuegang@email.unc.edu New West 302

T 12:45- 1:45
R 5-6

Ms. Yi Zhou
Teaching Professor in Chinese
Chinese yizh@email.unc.edu 962-1019 New West 111

M 12:30-1:30
W 1:30-2:30