Skip to main content
Name Field Email Phone Office Fall 2021
Office Hours
Dr. Shahla Adel
Teaching Associate Professor in Persian
Persian sadel@email.unc.edu New West 110

WF 9-10
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/j/98040748454

Ms. Yuki Aratake
Teaching Professor in Japanese
Japanese yaratake@email.unc.edu New West 107

MW 9-10
Zoom and in person
https://unc.zoom.us/my/aratakeofficehours      

Ms. Dongsoo Bang
Teaching Associate Professor in Korean
Korean dsbang@email.unc.edu New West 223

M 8-9
T 11-12
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/dsbang 

Dr. Jan Bardsley
Professor Emerita
Japanese bardsley@email.unc.edu

Retired.

Dr. Uffe Bergeton
Associate Professor
Chinese bergeton@email.unc.edu 962-4740 New West 210

T 5-6
R 11-12
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/bergetonofficehours

Ms. Kanika Bhalla
Visiting Lecturer
Hindi-Urdu kbhalla@unc.edu GC 4109

MT 1:30-2:30
In person and Zoom by appointment
https://unc.zoom.us/j/8791002606

Ms. Sabey Boswell
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Arabic slboswell@unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St #222
Ms. Luoyi Cai
Teaching Assistant Professor in Chinese
Chinese luoyicai@email.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 216

T 2:30-3:30
F 1:30-2:30
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/luoyicai

Dr. John Caldwell
Teaching Associate Professor in Hindi-Urdu
Hindi-Urdu asiaweb@email.unc.edu 843-7056 New West 222

T 2:30-4:30
Th 12:20-1:20
Meeting ID: 790 289 4485; Passcode: HNURGURU
https://unc.zoom.us/my/johncaldwellsmeetingroom
Or in person (by request)

Dr. Dwayne Dixon
Teaching Assistant Professor
Global Asia dedixon@email.unc.edu

M 2:30-3:30
F 12:15-1:15
https://unc.zoom.us/my/dwaynedixonofficehours

Dr. Mark Driscoll
Professor
Japanese mdriscol@email.unc.edu

T 5:00-6:00
Th 11:00-12:00
Meeting ID: 690 936 4174
zoom link: https://unc.zoom.us/j/6909364174

Ms. Doria El Kerdany
Teaching Associate Professor in Arabic
Arabic elkerdan@email.unc.edu New West 223

MT: 2:15pm-3:15pm
Zoom Only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/doriaofficehours

Ms. Noor El-Baradie
Undergraduate Arabic Facilitator
Arabic noorelb@live.unc.edu
Ms. Na Fan
Visiting Lecturer
Chinese nafan@email.unc.edu 962-4294 134 E. Franklin St., 217

MW 11:10 – 12:10
Zoom only
https://zoom.us/j/8739484996?pwd=ZnhDTGVzbVVIQVRaOTBQYUxtSDFzUT09

Ms. Junko Fujioka
Visiting Lecturer
Japanese junkoj@email.unc.edu 962-1037 134 E. Franklin St., 219A

TR 11:15-12:15
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/fujiokaofficehours

Dr. Didem Havlioglu
Professor of the Practice
Turkish didemh@email.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 218

W 12-1 (virtual)
TH 3:15-4:15 (in person)
https://duke.zoom.us/my/havlioglu

Dr. Li-ling Hsiao
Associate Professor
Chinese hsiaoLL@email.unc.edu New West 306

TTH 9:30-10:30
https://unc.zoom.us/my/hsiaoofficehours

Ms. Fengyan Hu
Visiting Lecturer
Chinese fhu2@unc.edu 962-4294 134 E. Franklin St #216
Ms. Fumi Iwashita
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese iwashita@email.unc.edu New West 102

TTH 12:15-1:15
https://unc.zoom.us/my/iwashitaofficehours

Dr. Ji-Yeon Jo
Associate Professor
Korean joj@email.unc.edu New West 214

TR 9:30-10:30
Zoom only
In-person meetings by appointment
https://unc.zoom.us/my/joofficehours

Mr. Nathan Jumper
Teaching Assistant
jumperna@ad.unc.edu 125 Carolina Hall
Ms. Yuko Kato
Teaching Associate Professor in Japanese
Japanese ykato@email.unc.edu New West 101

On leave.

Mr. Bud Kauffman
Teaching Associate Professor in Arabic
Arabic budk@email.unc.edu 962-4739 Coates 207

M 1:15-2:15
W 11:10-12:10
https://unc.zoom.us/my/kauffmanpmi

Dr. I Jonathan Kief
Assistant Professor
Korean kief@email.unc.edu New West 215

On leave.

Dr. Hye Kyoung Kwon
Visiting Lecturer
Korean hkwon@unc.edu New West 113

TTH 6:30-7:30pm
Zoom: https://unc.zoom.us/j/99761754730

Dr. Eunji Lee
Teaching Assistant Professor in Korean
Korean ejlee12@email.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 219A

http://unc.zoom.us/my/leeofficehours

Ms. Slki Lim
Teaching Assistant
slki@live.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 222

M 12-1
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/slki.lim

Dr. Jia Lin
Teaching Associate Professor in Chinese
Chinese jialin@email.unc.edu New West 110

M 11:10-12:10
T 4-5
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/jialinofficehours

Dr. Pamela Lothspeich
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu ploth@email.unc.edu New West 124

M 2:00-3:00 (on Zoom)
T 2:00-3:00 (in person)
and by appointment
https://unc.zoom.us/j/97953925119

Ms. Keiko Nishimura
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Japanese nishimk@ad.unc.edu 115 Bingham Hall

F 11-12
zoom: https://unc.zoom.us/j/4625876799 (Passcode: mpop)
Book through (https://nishimk.youcanbook.me/)

Dr. Morgan Pitelka
Professor and Chair
Japanese mpitelka@unc.edu New West 121

TR 2-3
In person or zoom
https://unc.zoom.us/my/pitelkaofficehours

Dr. Lini Ge Polin
Teaching Associate Professor in Chinese
Chinese linige@unc.edu New West 111

T 12-1
W 10-11
or by appointment (zoom only)
https://unc.zoom.us/my/gelaoshiofficehours

Ms. Caroline Robinson
Teaching Assistant Professor
Arabic robinsoc@email.unc.edu Coates 210

W 12-1
https://unc.zoom.us/my/csrobinson

Mr. Katsu Sawamura
Teaching Assistant Professor in Japanese
Japanese katsuhik@email.unc.edu New West 107

TTHU 1:45-2:45
https://unc.zoom.us/my/sawamuraofficehours

Ms. Sahar Sayess
Undergraduate Arabic Facilitator
Arabic saharas@live.unc.edu
Mr. Paul Schissel
Graduate Teaching Assistant
paulsch@ad.unc.edu
Dr. Yaron Shemer
Associate Professor
Hebrew yshemer@email.unc.edu New West 202

On leave.
https://unc.zoom.us/my/shemer.officehours

Ms. Hanna Sprintzik
Teaching Associate Professor in Hebrew
Hebrew hannasp@email.unc.edu New West 222

MW 11:10-12:10 on zoom
https://unc.zoom.us/my/hebrewofficehours

Dr. Afroz Taj
Associate Professor
Hindi-Urdu taj@email.unc.edu 962-1060 New West 201

T 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
Th 2:15 to 3:15 p.m. ;or by appointment.
Meeting ID: 233 972 0119 ; Passcode: TAJMAHAL) or in my office by special request
Zoom Link: https://unc.zoom.us/j/2339720119?pwd=Tktzcy9yNTFZdGUwanFBS0s4SkpIdz09#success

Ms. Vy Ton
Visiting Lecturer
Vietnamese vton@unc.edu GC 4107

M 10:30-11:30
W 2-3
in person or zoom
https://unc.zoom.us/my/vyton

Dr. Ana Vinea
Assistant Professor
Arabic anavinea@email.unc.edu New West 108

Tu & Th, 10-11 am
On Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/vineaofficehours

Dr. Robin Visser
Associate Professor
Chinese rvisser@email.unc.edu New West 318

T 4:30-5:30
W 3-4
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/visserofficehours

Ms. Shuguang Wang
Teaching Assistant
Chinese hunrose@live.unc.edu 134 E. Franklin St., 222

Th: 3:30 pm to 4:30 pm
preferably via zoom (shuguangofficehours).
https://unc.zoom.us/my/shuguangofficehours

Dr. Claudia Yaghoobi
Associate Professor
Persian yaghoobi@email.unc.edu New West 109

W 3-5
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/yaghoobiofficehours 

Dr. Makiko Yamamoto Border
Visiting Lecturer
Japanese myborder@live.unc.edu New West 101
Dr. Nadia Yaqub
Professor
Arabic yaqub@email.unc.edu 843-8149 New West 305

On leave.
https://unc.zoom.us/my/nadiayaqub

Dr. Gang Yue
Associate Professor
Chinese yuegang@email.unc.edu New West 302

Th: 3:30-4:30
In person or zoom
https://unc.zoom.us/my/yueofficehours 

Ms. Yi Zhou
Teaching Professor in Chinese
Chinese yizh@email.unc.edu New West 111

M 12:10-1:10
W 2:20-3:20
Zoom only
https://unc.zoom.us/my/zhouofficehours